E3 2007

The last 4 days of my TV watching life have been domintated by one thing.  E3 Game conference.  There's been a lot of controversy over the fact that E3 has been closed to the public this year, but I've got to say it's nice to have it this way.  I don't live in California, and I'm not about to drive there, but I very much enjoyed watching G4's coverage of it. 

E3 opened with Microsoft's presentation, which I enjoyed despite G4's criticisim of it.  It had the most playable demo's which to me is important.  Seeing a playable game actually gives me an idea of what the game will look and play like.  Seeing theatrical trailers is nice and all, but it doesn't say anything about the game.   The thing I loved the absolute most about the microsoft presentation was the opening which I will share with you.  I have a weakness for symphonic rock, violins and hot women.  Enjoy.

The game I'm anticipating most was also well demonstrated in Microsoft's presentation.  Assassin's Creed.  The combat looks more realistic than anything I've seen, the gameplay looks solid, and the setting… ohmygod… the SETTING!!!  Jerusalem!  Holyland!  CRUSADES!!! O-M-F-G…  You have no idea how sick I am of WW2 shooter settings, and fantasy.  At last!  A mideaval setting that doesn't have dragons and elves.  I love the holy land and nights templar era, and this looks like it actually does that.  Wow.  Watch and Enjoy.

Last but not least, I mentioned in an earlier post as it was going on.  The Wii Fit, and Wii Balance board.  I own a Wii allready, and I'm stoked about this.  Some say that Nintendo is abandoning it's traditional market as it moves mainstream, but I see more potential in this than interactive yoga.  This may be the first step to truly interactive user interfaces.  In the past ergonomics have leaned towards putting a gamer in a full-body suit with sensors, but Nintendo's latest innovations seems like this might not be the way to go.  The Wii-mote was immensely successful, and if the balance board keeps that same level of quality then the heaven's will open and Nintendo will be showered with riches and praise.  Here's some of the presentation here.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Helmsman

Importing a Vox Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

