Luck

Luck is a loser's excuse for a winners perseverance.

Still… I feel pretty fuckin lucky these days.

The last few days have been an emotional and financial roller coaster for me.  My last post explained my situation with Bell, and my internet overuse and the huge potential hit I could have taken because of it.  But I resolved it, all's good.  Well with that scare still fresh in my mind I took steps to make sure I could properly monitor the usage on my Telus account.  It involved getting a user-name set up on their website, and after I did that it took a bit of looking to figure out where the usage was tracked.  To my dismay it indicated that I was already 100megs over my allotment in usage, but no charges were listed. 

So looking at another potential $300.00 bill in the face I had another restless night of sleep.  I can deal with this stuff, I always do, but it doesn't mean I like it.  I resolved to go on super rationing as far as internet was concerned, until I can work out an arrangement for a sattelite connection, because this is getting rediculous.

This morning I phoned telus to get the scoop on my usage, what am I told?  Yes, I've definetly gone over my 250 megs, but because my account is new I get 3 months worth of unlimited.  I almost feignted from joy.  Why was life so good for me?  Now I've got 3 months to get a sattelite connection working, and I don't have to worry about my blogging reserch becoming too expensive to do.  I can't tell you how much of a relief that is to me.

Everyone goes on about this book/movie thing, The Secret, which I've not bothered to see, it's all about the "Power of Positive Thinking" which I think is akin to the "Power of Prayer" both of which I think are a crock.  I've always held that we make our fortunes, and we deal with our misfortunes but I'm not adverse to raising my eyes to the sky and thanking God or Karma or whoever will listen when some unprecidented good fortune comes my way.

These recent events have given me reason to examine my life though.  Life has been good to me.  I have a well paying job where I do so little that it gives me time to pursue other means of income doing what I want.  I'm not saddled by student loans like so many, and I don't have to starve to pursue my writing.  I have a great girlfriend who's loving and understanding of my lifestyle, and we get along very well.  I have desires and goals, and there are parts of my life that could certainly be better but I'm happy with myself and my life. 

It sounds crazy, but this makes me worry.  Life is too good.  Is this simply because I have a horseshoe stuck up my ass or am I creating my own good fortune?  I've always kind of floated through things, made the decisions as they needed to be made, and handled the problems that came up.  I have farily reasonable foresight, but it isn't infallable, and I do make mistakes… but they never seem to be crippling. 

That scares me, Is fate guiding me?  Should I be doing something I'm not?  We should always use the opportunities we're given the best we can, and I intend to do so… for I'll not know what tomorrow brings.  Like the legend of Joseph and the Coat of Many Colors, 7 years of drought and famine may follow my 7 years of plenty, and I should prepare for it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Helmsman

Importing a Vox Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

