Five Grateful Things – Inspirational Edition

I consider myself a writer even though I've never had anything published and as of yet I don't think my writing for various sources has yealded me even $1000.00 over the course of my lifetime.  In some ways it's presumptuous but we all have to have a dream right?

So today I'm going to offer the five primary sources of inspiration to keep me writing.  They effectively are the food that feeds my dreams, which is why I'm grateful for them.  Maybe someday I'll post an update to these sources but these are what they are now.

1) Simple Abundance – It's not so much the group or the subject matter that has inspired me, as it is the goal.  Dee's gentle requirement to post 5 things a day is a healthy deadline.  It's not hard, but it's there and it makes me think more, all day, and thinking is good for inspiration.

2) G4 Tech TV – Or more accurately 3 shows on it.  Attack of the Show, X-Play, and The Lab with Leo Laporte

Attack of the show is my primary source for news, which may be limiting myself, but I find other news sources are overly negative and lacking in actual legitimate news.  AOTS is primarily geared towards the tech aspects of news so in that it is limited, but it portrays pop culture in a trendy way and it's a pleasure to watch.  I honestly wish that more networks would develop news programs like it.

X-Play is a Video Game Review show.  It's funny, trendy, and enjoyable to watch even if you don't really care for video games. 

The Lab is a call-in show featuring Leo Laporte, who in my opinion is one of the most credible and knowledgable people involved in the tech scene today.  His web of influence spreads far, and the more I learn about the web the more I see traces of his involvement.

3) John Chow's BlogThis is a relatively new addition to my inspiration sources.  It's mostly about money, which might be mundane, but it fills my mind with new ideas for blogs, so it's inspiration.

4) Mythology – It's a source for my fictional works that I always return to.  And really what better stories than the ones that have stimulated minds and hearts for thousands of years? 

5) Frustration, Guilt and Disappointment – These three things could be #1, but I don't care for them very much so they get to be last, but to ignore their value in my writing would be naive.  Frustration urges me to change my tactics, guilt leads me to try harder and do better, and disappointment leads me to think of a better idea.  All are inspiring.

There you go.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Helmsman

Importing a Vox Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Grateful Things – Inspirational Edition

  1. John Chow says:

    Thanks for adding me to your list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

