My Jaw Hit the Fucking Floor

http://www.crooksandliars.com/2008/02/10/george-bush-on-waterboarding-there’s-a-difference-between-what-happened-in-the-past-and-today-is-there’s-new-law/


Bush Talks about torture:






Gee… looks like he kinda likes it.


When asked:

"do you think it’s legal and are you prepared to authorize it if you believe it’s necessary to protect the nation?"


His Reply was this:


"First of all, whatever we have done, was legal. And whatever decision I will make, will be reviewed by the Justice Department to determine whether or not the legality is is there. And the reason why…there’s a difference between what happened in the past and today is there’s new law. And um, and so to answer your question, whatever we will do will be legal. The American people have got to know that what we did in the past gained information that prevented an attack and for those who criticize what we did in the past, I ask them which attack would they rather have not permitted…stopped? Which attack on America would they have said, you know, well, maybe that wasn’t all that important? That we stopped those attacks. I’ll do what’s necessary to protect America within the law.That’s what you gotta understand. And um, [nods head]"


That can't be right… that's just text… but wait… maybe it's not.



So let me get this straight… something that the rest of the world considers a WAR CRIME is perfectly legal because Mr Bush says it is… that's the difference?


Wow… I'm actually fucking speechless.



Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Helmsman

Importing a Vox Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Jaw Hit the Fucking Floor

  1. I always find it extra special when the administration invokes the Nixon Defense. "If the President does it," Nixon once told a reporter, "it can't be illegal."
    Beyond just torture, though, there is the other subject that was mentioned in the video, concerning warrantless wiretaps. The Administration insists that by denying them the ability to listen in on conversations coming from anywhere to anywhere, we are allowing terrorists to win. But they have made sure there is no legal definition to who is a "suspected" terrorist. If I am in another country and call my grandfather, they can, without a warrant, listen to that conversation, supposedly just to see if I am a terrorist. If I call my friend who is in the Peace Corps in Kenya, and I am at my house here in the US, they can listen to it, just to be sure.

Leave a Reply

