Old People Say the Darndest Things…

In the past three months I've had the same conversation points come up once each month and I'm starting to wonder…

It's always with a nearly retirement-age guy and they're always playing country music, they always ask if I like country to which my answer is that I don't like much of it.  Then they without-fail say the following words:  "You probably listen to that ACDC stuff don't you."  Like it's a foregone conclusion.
I never really have much of a reply to that statement, of course I've listened to ACDC, I have ears after all.  Thunderstruck has been in probably half a dozen blockbuster music scores since the mid-90's, but I've never bought one of their albums, and currently the only two songs of theirs I have on my ipod are You Shook Me All Night Long and TNT.  TNT amuses me because whenever I hear it I think of the evil pigs from Killfrog, but other than those I don't go out of my way to listen to them.
So what is it that makes the early babyboomers think that ACDC is the quintessential example of rock music?  Sure they're good, but to me they seem like the Stones only… newer.  I certainly think the Rolling Stones are a better example of that style of rock, why aren't they the conclusion jumped to when people make assumptions about my musical taste?  To me this seems kind-of arbitrary, like if I said I played computer games they'd assume I was a freecell player, or if I said I didn't read many Western's they'd assume I read a lot of Michael Crichton (RIP).
On analysis of this ACDC statement I can only come to the conclusion that this is the cordial way of saying "Even though I claim to like lots of music, your newfangled crap doesn't interest me."  And thus we let the conversation drop.
But still… it's interesting that ACDC is the common theme here.
I don't get it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Helmsman

Importing a Vox Blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old People Say the Darndest Things…

  1. Kevin Wolf says:

    Oh, no you didn't just dis on Bread!

Leave a Reply

